What causes a horse to founder?

Founder or lamanitis is a common and painful condition that affects the feet in horses. Here are a few causes: Access to excessive amounts of carbs Getting into grain bin and eating too much grain, lush spring and fall pasture. Excessive concussion to hooves. Obesity and Metabolic issues. Toxaemia