What's the smallest animal in the animal kingdom?

Etruscan Shrew Also known as the White-Toothed Pygmy Shrew, the Etruscan Shrew is the smallest animal known by mass, weighing in at a mere 1.8 grams at its largest.

---

The smallest vertebrate (animal with a backbone) is Paedophryne amauensis. The body length of an average adult is reported at less than 8 mm, about the size of a pea. The smallest invertebrate is the rotifer, or wheel animal, which can be as small as 50 microns, which is the equivalent of 0.05mm.