How do you know when steel cut oats is done?

Steel-cut oats are done when the cook says they are. They are cooked anywhere from 20 minutes to half an hour. It all depends on the desired texture. At 20 minutes the oats will have a chewy texture. At 30 minutes they will be creamy and softer.