Where did the song do your ears hang low originate?

The origin of the song is most likely George Washington Dixon's "Zip Coon", penned in 1838. However, according to folklorists such as Ed Cray, the evidence strongly suggests a more vulgar version of this song came first, and that "Do Your Ears Hang Low?" is a sanitized version.