What does commonwealth state mean?

Commonwealth is a term used by four of the 50 states of the United States. "Commonwealth" is a traditional English term for a political community founded for the common good. The states of Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia use "Commonwealth" in their names.