Can you use baking soda instead of baking powder in a recipe?

Yes, if a recipe calls for baking powder, you may substitute the same amount of baking soda, plus two parts of cream of tartar or two parts of white vinegar. This will add the acid required to activate the baking soda.

---

It depends on what you’re cooking. You may need to add an acid like cream of tartar to get the expected results. Keep in mind baking soda is four times more powerful than baking powder so use a quarter as much.