What is a theme of a book?

what the book is about, such as mystery, romance, horror ect

---

The theme in a story or book is its underlying message, or 'big idea.' In other words, what critical belief about life is the author trying to convey in their writing? This belief, or idea, transcends cultural barriers. It is usually universal in nature.