What's the difference between crystal and glass?

Crystal is a type of glass that contains anywhere from 2 to 30% minerals, often lead. The minerals in crystal glass strengthen the material, making it possible to produce, for instance, durable but thin wine glasses.

---

The main difference is that crystal contains anywhere from 2–30% minerals (lead or lead-free), making it possible to produce durable but thin glasses. It is also more transparent, brighter and thinner, making it a desirable choice for high-end glassware and decorations.