Who is the actor that plays mayhem on the allstate commercials?

Dean Gerard Winters is an American actor. He is known for his role as Ryan O'Reily on the HBO prison drama Oz and has also appeared on such television series as Rescue Me, 30 Rock, and Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, as well as portraying "Mayhem" in a series of Allstate Insurance commercials.