Who is supersonic from sonic?

In the video games, Super Sonic is the form Sonic takes when he obtains 7 chaos emeralds and 50 rings. When Sonic obtains 7 super emeralds he becomes Hyper Sonic. In the movie, the rings weren't a requirement to transform.