How did mincemeat pie get its name?

The recipe for mincemeat pies goes back to the 13th century when the crusaders came back to Europe. It contained a mix of minced meat and dried fruits and spices. Today, most mincemeat recipes do not contain any meat, yet through the centuries the name stuck, and it is still called a mincemeat pie.