How many people go to hogwarts?

While hotly debated, the answer is probably around 600. Early on Rowling said it was about a thousand, but fans kept finding narrative inconsistencies that pointed to a smaller number. In 2005, Rowling (saying she was poor at math) confirmed that 600 was a more reasonable estimate.