How do i get brown sugar to soften?

For the quickest results, place a lump of hardened brown sugar in a small microwave safe bowl, and cover it with a moist paper towel. Microwave the brown sugar on high in increments of 20-seconds each, making sure to break up any large clumps with a fork as you go.