Does dairy free cheese exist?

Cheese alternatives that are free from dairy do exist and are made from several plant based ingredients. dairy-alternative products cannot be sold in the EU under names such as 'milk', 'butter' or 'cheese', but in the u.s. there are no federal laws prohibiting this.