What is the great molasses flood of nineteen nineteen?

The Great Molasses Flood occurred on January 15, 1919, in Boston, Massachusetts. A large storage tank burst, filled with 2,300,000 gallons, or 24,000,000 lbs, of molasses. A wave of molasses rushed through the streets at an estimated 35 mph, killing 21 and injuring 150.