How long did the egyptian empire last?

Well over 3000 years. Usually when speaking of the Ancient Egyptian Empire, the Dynastic Period is used as a general timeline - the Dynastic Period started with the reign of Egypt's first king, Narmer, in approximately 3100 BCE, and ended with the death of Cleopatra VII in 30 BCE.