How much turkey do you need for thanksgiving?

For turkeys smaller than 16 pounds, estimate 1 pound per serving. For larger birds, a bit less is fine; they have a higher meat-to-bone ratio. But if your goal is to have ample leftovers, aim for 1½ pounds per person whatever the turkey's size. For 8 people, buy a 12-pound turkey.