Do beets cause gas?

Because low stomach acid can make it difficult to digest and absorb nutrients, your body may have trouble metabolizing the red pigment in beetroot. So, you may notice red or pink urine after you eat beets or drink beet juice. Signs of low stomach acid include bloating, gas, and constipation.