What's the smallest underwater animal?

Marine viruses can be as small as 40 nm. Marine bacteria are larger, around 1000 nm. Small plankton range in size from 20 to 640 microns. The smallest animal you can readily see might be the octopus wolfi, at less than 1 inch long when adult.