Why are rain clouds dark?

According to LiveScience.com, rain clouds are dark because of their height, or thickness. That is, a cloud gets thicker and denser as it gathers more water droplets and ice crystals. The thicker it gets, the more light it scatters, resulting in less light penetrating all the way through it.