Can a queen bee fly?

Queen bees can fly.

---

Yes, a queen bee goes on one or more mating flights shortly after she hatches. Then while laying up to 2000 eggs per day, she eats about 25 times her body weight and is too heavy to fly. When the colony decides to swarm, the attendant bees put her on a diet so she will slim down and be able to fly.