What's a grinder sandwich?

Webster's Dictionary defines Hoagie as a large sandwich on a long crusty roll that is split lengthwise and filled with meats and cheese (and tomato and onion and lettuce and condiments); different names are used in different sections of the U. S., such as hero, grinder, and submarine.

---

Grinder is a regional term for a submarine sandwich. It comes from the Northeast United States

---

A grinder sandwich is also called a hero or a hoagie depending on where you are from. This is a large submarine sandwich that is normally sold at delis.