Are scallions the same things as green onions?

Green onions and scallions are actually the same thing! They are either harvested very young from the regular bulb-forming onions we are familiar with, or they can come from other varieties that actually never form bulbs.

---

Yes, the terms can generally be used interchangeably, although sometimes people consider the larger sized scallions green onions.