How long do you heat up milk for hot chocolate?

Pasteurized milk does not require boiling, so you can heat it until it foams up in the pot. Unpasteurized milk must boil for at least 5 minutes. Keep an eye on the pot and lower or turn off the heat to avoid liquid spills or foam. You can slowly add the chocolate at this point.