When did geraldine ferraro run for vice president of the united states?

In 1984, Geraldine Ferraro ran as the Vice Presidential candidate with Walter Mondale as presidential candidate, losing to Ronald Reagan and George H. Bush.

---

Geraldine Anne Ferraro, who was born August 26, 1935 and died March 26, 2011, was the Democratic Party's vice presidential nominee in 1984, running alongside former vice president Walter Mondale; this made her the first female vice-presidential nominee representing a major American political party.