Is quinoa a grain or a seed?

Quinoa is the seed of the Chenopodium or Goosefoot plant. It's frequently called a grain because it is used and cooked like one, and is often called an “Ancient Grain” and a “Wholegrain”. These terms can make it confusing, but it is not a grain; it is a gluten free super-seed,