Why is a touchdown 6 points?

A touch down is worth two field goals and you get a bonus with a touch down by trying either a 2 point or 1 point conversion after the touch down. Therefore, the 6 points is one up from a Rugby try and in balance with the several other methods that can score points in American Tackle Football.