What is the difference between gorgonzola and blue cheese?

The main difference between blue cheese and gorgonzola is that gorgonzola has a milder taste and a softer texture than other varieties of blue cheese. Blue cheese is an umbrella term that refers to cheese with veins of blue mold, and gorgonzola is a type of blue cheese.