How hot are chipotle peppers?

Chipotle peppers are smoked, dried jalapeño peppers, and as such they share the same medium-level heat as jalapeños (2,500 to 8,000 Scoville heat units.) Because they are picked later in the season, they will be a little hotter than a fresh jalapeño.