What does homeowners insurance cover?

Generally, homeowners insurance covers losses due to theft, fire, wind, rain or other storms and physical damage to the buildings, contents of the owners property.

---

A standard homeowners insurance policy provides coverage to repair or replace your home and its contents in the event of damage. That usually includes damage resulting from fire, smoke, theft or vandalism, or damage caused by a weather event such as lightning, wind, or hail.