What is cream of tatar?

Technically, cream of tartar is an acid—specifically, tartaric acid. It's a byproduct of wine production, the residue left on the barrels, actually. Most commonly, cream of tartar is used as a leavener, because when it's combined with baking soda, together they produce carbon dioxide gas.