What does the twenty one gun salute stand for?

The 21 gun salute is a means to honor an individual. It was originally a 7 gun salute but increased to 21 as advances in gunpowder made it more stable and easy to store, enabling more shots to be fired. The US Presidential and National Salute is 21 guns. It is also the international standard.