Why are dogs noses black?

Nose pigmentation is important to protect the dog from sunburn and skin cancer.It's also quite useful in identifying a dog's actual color. Genetically black dogs have black noses and genetically red dogs have liver noses.The more pigment a dog has on his nose leather the better UV protection he gets