How does a grapefruit grow?

Grapefruit is a citrus fruit that grows on trees. The fruit grows in clusters similar to grapes, which is why it is called the grapefruit. The fruit is tree-ripened and hand-picked, which increases quality. Grapefruits make up nearly 80% of the citrus industry and Texas.