Who is the first man to orbit the earth?

Yuri Alekseyevich Gagarin  was a Soviet pilot and cosmonaut who became the first human to journey into outer space, achieving a major milestone in the Space Race; his capsule, Vostok 1, completed one orbit of Earth on 12 April 1961