Who were the goonies?

From IMDB: In the 1985 movie "The Goonies", the Goonies were a band of children from the 'Goon Docks' neighborhood in Astoria, Oregon, who uncover an old treasure map that promises to lead them to the long-lost pirate's booty of One-Eyed Willy.