Why is the star yellow?

The color of a star indicates how old it is. Blue stars are the youngest, while red ones are the oldest. The color tells you how much of their hydrogen gas has burned off. Once a star runs out of hydrogen, it dies. A yellow star like our Sun is a middle-aged star, halfway between blue and red.