How do you find nightcrawlers?

Nightcrawlers are found in places with damp, rich soil content, so any place with soil that has a dark color and is moist would be a good spot. method to find nightcrawlers is pound a wood stake into the ground nice and firm. using a rasp file, file the top of the stake. vibration drives them out.