How big is a micron?

1 micron is the same as . 00003937 inches, or 0.001 mm.

---

Micron is an abbreviation for micrometer or, one millionth of a meter. It is equal to 0.00003937 inches, or .001 millimeters. For comparison, a human hair is 50 to 70 microns across. Red blood cells are about 8 microns. The Human eye can see things down to about 40 microns in size.