Do catfish have scales?

Catfish do not have scales; however some do have bony plates called scutes.

---

Catfish do not have scales; their bodies are often naked. In some species, the mucus-covered skin is used in cutaneous respiration, where the fish breathes through its skin. In some catfish, the skin is covered in bony plates called scutes.