How many tectonic plates are there on earth?

2 Answers

The Earth is broken up into seven major tectonic plates which are the African plate, Antarctic plate, Eurasian plate, Indo-Australian plate, North American plate, Pacific plate and South American plate. There is another 10 minor tectonic plates plus other micro tectonic plates.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1569240042535) }}

Points points 70
Rating 0

There are about 7 major tectonic plates and 15 minor ones. The major plates, ordered by size, are the Pacific Plate, the North American Plate, the Eurasian Plate, the African Plate, the Antarctic Plate, the Indo-Australian Plate (sometimes considered 2 separate plates), and the South American Plate.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1567462401250) }}

Points points 53
Rating 0
to view all answers

Similar Questions

Join Alexa Answers

Help make Alexa smarter and share your knowledge with the world