What's a change up in baseball?

The changeup is a common off-speed pitch. It is one of the slowest pitches thrown in baseball, and it is predicated on deception. A good changeup will cause a hitter to start his swing well before the pitch arrives, resulting in either a swing and miss or very weak contact.