Where did nyan cat come from?

Nyan cat came from the imagination of Christopher Torres of Dallas, Texas which he uploaded to You Tube in April 2011 as a GIF animation and has lived on as a popular meme.

---

The Nyan Cat video was first posted to YouTube on April 5, 2011. The original GIF came from artist Christopher Torres's website. The name Pop Tart Cat comes from him, since that's what he originally called it.