How to thunder and lightning occur?

Lightning is the static electrical discharge from the Earth to the clouds. Thunder is the sound of the air which is super-heated by the electrical discharge causing a small vacuum. When the air refills the vacuum, the shift in pressure causes the sound that we hear as thunder.