Is cheech marin from michigan?

Cheech Marin was born in South Los Angeles, California, to Mexican American parents Elsa (née Meza), a secretary, and Oscar Marin, a police officer for the LAPD. Marin met his future comedic partner, Tommy Chong, in Calgary, Alberta.