What does a. and w. stand for in a. and w. root beer?

The two partners combined their initials - "A" for Allen and "W" for Wright and formally named the beverage, A&W Root Beer®.

---

The 'A' is taken from the last name of Roy Allen, and the 'W' is taken from the name of Frank Wright. The two men partnered in 1912 to form the A&W brand and inspired a chain of sit-in and drive-in restaurants known for their tall frosty mugs of Root Beer.