How many carrots does a diamond have?

A metric “carat” is defined as 200 milligrams. Each carat can be subdivided into 100 'points. ' This allows very precise measurements to the hundredth decimal place. A jeweler may describe the weight of a diamond below one carat by its 'points' alone.