What's a mushroom?

Button mushrooms are the common, familiar white mushrooms that are used in a wide range of recipes and cooking techniques, from tarts and omelets to pasta, risotto, and pizza. They're the workhorse of the mushroom family, and their mild flavor and meaty texture make them extremely versatile.