Why do ants not like cinnamon?

Cinnamon is often regarded as an effective DIY ant control option. It is believed that cinnamon acts as a natural repellent as ants can't stand the smell. They also hate the smell of peppermint. It's just their personal sense of smell that makes them dislike these odors, like you hate some smells.