Are cashews really nuts?

Although it's a true nut, rather than a legume, the cashew does grow in a rather unusual fashion. The tree grows a substantial crop of large, pear-shaped fruit known as cashew apples, and the nut itself grows from the bottom of the fruit in a cashew-shaped husk

---

Though thought of as a nut, cashews are actually seeds. The fruit that the seeds come from, called the cashew apple ("apple" being an old generic term for "fruit"), is also edible.